//mindwarpfx.wordpress.com/
you're reading...
community, humor, life

Impulses


The naked truth is we all have impulses in everyday life. My use of the word naked in the opening sentence of this post was a impulses. True it was. What kind of impulses have you given into of late? Okay keep it clean around the PG13 rating please. It isn’t like we wish to hear about impulsive fanatics that have or have not come true for you. The kind of impulses I’m talking about are the ones that didn’t happen untill you just without much thought at all, did them. Kind of like a kid that wasn’t really out to take something from the store, but then stole something. That kind of impulses I’m saying. Have you ever had something like that in your every day life? The most impulsive actions that you were all to happy to act on?

The other day I went to the store for something, just shopping like normal. Not that I  was looking for something to steel. No nothing like that. In fact I didn’t even get caught. But seem like every time I go to the store I have this impulses of doing it right there in the store.

Prehaps it is do to all of the UFO sightings in the area. Or maybe just because I hate false advertizing. In either case It compels me to these impulsive behaviours.

Seem like every time when I go to the baking section of the grocery store I have to get some things to make a cake. This puts me in eye contact of all of the cake mixes. There among all of the cakes like double chocolate fudge cake, carrot cake, no bake cheese cake, coffee cake, vanilla, red velvet cake, there is the pineapple upside-down cake.

It isn’t the fact that I have anything ageist this style of cake. But I’m drawn to this cake mix like a moth to flame. Just the fact of using the term of upside-down as the descriptive term on the box seem out-of-place to me. It would make a bigger impact on shoppers as well if…

I grabbed the box right up and looked it over real good. This was a stalling tactic though. This gave me time to look over the possibility’s of getting caught. Lucky for me. Not a living soul was in this aisle of the store.

Impulsively I grabbed the boxes of the pineapple upside-down cake mixes. About 20 boxes in total. After clearing all of the boxes off the shelf I then quickly replaced them back on the shelf. But this time the boxes went back upside-down. I had to work fast but then sweet success. I stepped back to admire my unseen work. And to calm my heart down somewhat. Someone may not see the humor in it but seriously. pineapple upside-down cake should be advertised properly. After all it isn’t pineapple right side up cake. Nor is there a marker on the box with arrow that says ” this side up please.”

Right after I places the prank in gear I continued to shop. Half way down the aisle I stopped to get some sugar and read some new ingredients list on some new product advertize there. Suddenly I was met with some giggling shoppers. I looked up and saw smiling faces pointing backward to the area of the cake mixes.

” You should see the pineapple cake mixes.” They giggled and continued up the aisle.

I decides to circle back up one aisle and down the baking aisle from the other side of the store. A return to the scene of the crime so to speak. More of just to see reactions of other shoppers at this point. Some of these shoppers were smiling but some were laughing. Still others were questioning just how this could have happened. defiantly a shoppers congregating point in the store. An aisle that hardly had people shopping in it is now full and people are slowing down to view the mystery at hand.

Well this happens impulsively for me every time. Like a smoker who has to have a smoke, I have to rebalance the advertizing. Because I go to the same store every week some times twice. I’m sure the store manager is contemplating the impulse of placing a dragnet out to catch this prankster ( me! ). It is almost more of a challenged to keep doing this undetected. A game of cat and mouse.

Right after doing it once the produce manager noticed the boxes. And asked me if I saw who would do this. I gave a misdirected answer with guilty feelings that I was having surely printed all over my face, by saying. ” You know, I have seen this before in other stores in the area.” The look of surprised on the face of the man spelled sweet success, more of a mystery, or folk-lore now. So Being the one who does this, I have to keep up with the ruse. There is now 3 different stores who I’m sure are swapping stories as to what is this all about.

It is about the advertizing. Think about it. A wall of different cake mixes and the one your eyes catch is the one that is upside-down. Then finding out it is the pineapple upside-down cake mix. Well I wish there were some way to research the amount of increase sales. There is defiantly increase shopper buzz about the cake mix.

Occupy the baking aisle in the grocery store: The movement that has some fun!

Join into the fun won’t you? We will be noticed! We all may aswell become as popular as crop circles were a few years back. It is harmless fun. That brings smiles to people, well to who ever takes the challenge to do this kind of thing. After all it is impulsive. So Do you have an impulsive thought to join an impulse cult to flip all of the pineapple upside-down cake mix boxes nation wide? Well do you? It is un-American not too!

All the best!

About mindwarpfx

the truth has no agenda! a mind is a terrible thing to waste! not to pass on a smile that you receive from someone else is a missed opportunity and a lost moment to make a difrence in someone's life! To have choices made for you is to be held captive, to choose, is the first steps in freedom, to except responsibility is to fly and be free to experience life!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Impulses

  1. Haven’t done the cake mix thing, but I’ve often wanted to add a sticky note to the really best product on the shelf! When something is really superior, I have the urge to tell everybody!

    Posted by Texasjune | January 8, 2012, 1:19 pm
    • I like that idea as well. But the kid in me gets the best of me once in a while. I have been fighting this kid for all my life now some 40 + years. So as the fighting goes on I also at times slip up and the store gets boxes turned over. Just fun I tell you. The kid in me made me do it! Sounds so much better then the devil made me do it! Thanks for pokeing around the blog. All the best!

      Posted by mindwarpfx | January 8, 2012, 4:25 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Twitter Updates

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

