//mindwarpfx.wordpress.com/
you're reading...
community, humor, life

Unhealthy cereals, what is in them?


just saw a story on unhealthy cereals. Much like these cereals? Just what is in these cereals to make a list of the unhealthy?

Yea that’s right It is on the web so we must believe it! So it was on the ” Daily Beast ” but they are always believable? No real different’s then all of the rest of the news media out there?

So we are down with, picking on the poor cereals maker. Just too much sugar, not enough fiber, to many carbs or just another way for saying sugar again. But to remind myself of a “saying” from  yesterday’s cereal maker ” It tastes GREAT!” the sugar I say. Just what is the point of eating some junk that is healthy when it tastes like wet cardboard. The sugar is what makes kids like what ever they didn’t like on their own. When I was little my mom would mix honey with powered aspirin to get me to take a bitter pill. That was for my own good she use to say. But we need fiber so why not mix it with sugar just to get kids to eat it? Or so the thought is by the cereals makers of the world.

Mom’s of the modern world would like healthy things to feed their kids but don’t like to use to much of their time to provide such. Nothing faster than opening a box, and pouring some cereal in a bowl, add some milk and your off to the races. But about 100 years ago or so it seem. Mom’s use to take out the oat’s and have to cook them for what seemed like 20 or 30 minuets. They would then add butter and raisins or milk or all of the above. Some times powered sugar and cinnamon just to give the top a look of dirt, and not sweet. That way they had less gilt I’m sure. In what they were feeding us for breakfasts.

With the world looking for more healthy things to eat. Why are we all looking to others to make it for us? If we make it we can control what goes into it. But just think what kind of time we would have to have to make it for ourself’s? Who has that kind of time anyway? It can take hours to make granola. But minuets to buy it, even if you put the time it takes to drive home with it, into the equation.

With every study we find another thing we shouldn’t eat! Only to read another study and find that the first one was wrong or wrong in part at least! So what should we eat then? We shouldn’t eat fast food because it leads to becoming fat or having a bad heart. That leads to a heart attack. Who wants that? But to have a fast food burger once in a while isn’t any different then having burgers at home. We shouldn’t eat them 7 days a week at home. Fast food or other wise! The same thing for breakfast sausages, burritos, eggs, pancakes, or cereals. You know with pancakes why are they ok to have for breakfast, but chocolate cake, no way!? Is it the frosting?

The way I see it is, whether I’m making it, or I’m buying it from someone else that’s making it for me. It is my choice to eat or not to eat it. I know if someone is making something with broken glass pieces, or with rat poised in it. Well they should be held accountable for the way they are making things. But if there is too much sugar in it! That’s too much big brother? Eating to much of anything, good or bad things out there, all turns into being bad for us anyway. So it is with sugar cereals, if they cut the sugar in them, then kids will just add sugar, on their own I guess.

I just put sugar and cinnamon on the cream of wheat, oat’s, or oat bran cereals for my kids. That way I control the sugar in it, and they get the good fiber they need. And I keep getting the help I like, because they keep wanting to help me weed the garden, looking for that good tasting dirt I put on their cereals in the morning. Now that’s a healthy Win! Win!

All the best!

About mindwarpfx

the truth has no agenda! a mind is a terrible thing to waste! not to pass on a smile that you receive from someone else is a missed opportunity and a lost moment to make a difrence in someone's life! To have choices made for you is to be held captive, to choose, is the first steps in freedom, to except responsibility is to fly and be free to experience life!

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Unhealthy cereals, what is in them?

  1. Good choice with the kids’ cereals – don’t take all the fun out of eating. Pick you battles

    Posted by philosophermouseofthehedge | November 9, 2011, 4:41 pm
  2. Nice, no slugs haha

    There are so many already great tasting alternatives to cereal. I’ve discovered even sugar free oatmeals that are delicious. If you’re a little more daring, get the low-sugar kind for a little extra flavor. I knew sugar cereals weren’t for me when they’d give me acid reflux as a 10 year old.

    Any good oatmeal recipes? I’m bored of eating it plain and would love to try something interesting.

    Posted by mooselicker | November 5, 2011, 12:49 pm
    • do not have recipes for oatmeal at this time other than the same old way. but it would be intresting to find some new ones. Do you have some new ideas?
      All the best

      Posted by mindwarpfx | November 7, 2011, 11:35 pm
      • No recipes that don’t completely defeat the purpose of eating oatmeal. You might not think chocolate mixed in woudl be that good, but it is. Chocolate would taste good coming off of my dad’s back.

        Posted by mooselicker | November 10, 2011, 2:35 pm
      • Now your on to something! To day I tried, wait for it… ” Peanut Butter and Chocolate ” mixed in as I cooked my oatmeal. Nothing like eating a candybar oatmeal breakfast to start my day. Next to the chocolate cake breakfast from the other day It is a winner! Try it! You will like it!
        All the best!

        Posted by mindwarpfx | November 10, 2011, 3:42 pm
      • That sounds amazing haha. I can’t control myself around peanut butter. I do not allow it in my home. I will eat it all if I can.

        I put Reeses Pieces into my oatmeal before. I remember that being really good, but remember that the candy WILL BE HOT.

        Posted by mooselicker | November 10, 2011, 3:56 pm
  3. it’s so sad! all the goods are always so unhealthy 😦

    Posted by kat | November 5, 2011, 12:18 pm

Leave a comment

Categories

November 2011
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.